Skip to main content

Employee Recognition

Teacher of the Year

The Teacher of the Year program is designed to honor and recognize excellent teachers working in the Alameda Unified School District (AUSD). This is a unique opportunity to provide well-deserved
recognition for the whole teaching profession, as well as for the distinguished teachers that are
nominated. Parents, students, staff, and community members have the opportunity to nominate any
pre-kindergarten through twelfth grade teacher or a teacher of adults who provide instruction in the
same curriculum as those who teach in elementary or secondary grades.

2019 teacher of the year program

A selection committee consisting of teachers, administrators, the Alameda Education Association
president, a school board member, and a community member will determine the Teacher of the Year for the Alameda Unified School District. The AUSD Teacher of the Year will be formally recognized by the Board of Education in May of 2019. The selected teacher will then be honored by the Alameda County Office of Education in the fall of 2019 and ecomes eligible for the Alameda County Teacher of the Year Award and the State Teacher of the Year Award. The nomination form is here and is due by 3 pm on Monday, December 17.

2018 teacher of the year award

Mary Otieku, who teaches at Bay Farm School, was chosen for her her use of differentiated instruction, books from different cultures and mixed-race authors, classroom meetings, gratitude cards, respect for students, and clear and consistent communication with parents. The full press release is here.

Prior Winners
Year Teacher of the Year
2017 Kevin Gorham
2016 Amanda Cline
2015 John Dalton
2014 Michael Lamb
2013 Tracy Corbally
2012 Chris Hansen