Skip to main content

Special Education

Quick Links

Finding information about learning differences, disabilities, and special education services can sometimes feel overwhelming.  We hope the following resources help you understand what types of special education services we offer, how to work with our department, and what your parental rights are.

 

Special Education Services Offered

Alameda Unified School District (AUSD) and the North Region SELPA provide a full continuum of services for students ages 0-22 who are eligible for special education and related services. Those services include (but are not limited to) access to:

  • General education classroom with specialized academic instruction
  • General education classroom with specialist services
  • General education classroom with related services
  • Special education classroom with specialized academic instruction
  • Instruction in settings other than classrooms with specialized academic instruction
  • Itinerant instruction in classrooms, learning centers and settings other than classrooms
  • Instruction in classrooms throughout the SELPA for individuals with exceptional needs who require intensive instruction and training
  • Instruction in the home, hospitals, or other institutions

For more information on the types of services we provide, please check our AUSD Special Education Services page.

Special Education Strategic Plan Group

In the spring of 2017, AUSD formed a committee to create a three- to five year plan for the delivery of special education services in AUSD. Based on recommendations from the Fiscal Crisis Management Assistance Team, the committee was comprised of parents, community members, general and special education teachers, specialists, classified staff, and administrators. Meeting presentations, summaries, and presentations, as well as the final report, are available here

Special Education Contacts

Phone: (510) 337-7194

Fax: (510) 864-2309

 

Victoria Forrester

Special Education Director

vforrester@alamedaunified.org 

(510) 337-7000 ext. 77194

 

Sheri Jepperson

Coordinator of Moderate to Severe programs, preschool and ALL autism programs

sjepperson@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7000 ext. 77033

 

Joanne Murphy

Coordinator of Mild/Moderate Elementary for the following schools: Haight, Edison, Maya Lin, Paden and Bay Farm

jmurphy@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7000 ext. 77135

 

Jodi McCarthy

Coordinator of Elementary Mild/Moderate for the following schools: Earhart, Otis, Ruby Bridges and Franklin

jmccarthy@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7000 ext. 77094

 

Carole Sielaff

Coordinator for Secondary Special Education

csielaff@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7000 ext. 77084

 

Jill Drexel

Program Manager, NPS and Preschool

jdrexel@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7000 ext. 77128

 

Myra Santome-Elias

Budget Analyst

melias@alamedaunified.org 

(510) 337-7000 ext. 77093

 

Christina Nieves

Office Assistant

cnieves@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7000 ext. 77075

 

Marty Garchar

Accounting Technician

mgarchar@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7000 ext. 77177

 

Tara Donoghue

Behavior Specialist

tdonoghue@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7000 ext. 77041

 

Kari Sachs

Behavior Specialist

ksachs@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7000 ext. 77041

 

Joan Ralph

Behavior Specialist

jralph@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7000 ext. 77041

 

Mary Grace Basco

Preschool Specialist

mgbasco@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7000 ext. 77035

 

Ingrid Ryan

Behavior Specialist

iryan@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7000 ext. 77046

 

Carrie Green-Zinn

School Psychologist

cgzinn@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7000 ext. 77023

 

Stefanie Cox

TSA - Special Education

scox@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7000 ext. 77203

 

Chandini Stanley

TSA - Special Education & Workability

cstanley@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7000 ext. 77005

 

Karyn Missaggia

Transition Services Specialist

kmissaggia@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7000 ext. 77127